Area: 14 million km² / 5.5 million sq mi

Population: 0

Antarctica is a continent of extremes, being the highest, driest, windiest, emptiest and coldest place on earth. It is larger than Europe and Australia and its thick ice holds over 70% of the planet's fresh water.

  • Antarctica has a yearly average of 2 inches of precipitation making it the world’s largest desert.
  • There is only one active volcano on the continent which is named Mount Erebus.
  • The highest point in Antarctica is Vinson Massif at 4,897 metres.
  • The lowest temperature ever recorded on Earth was in Antarctica's eastern highlands. The temperature of -93°C (-136°F) was recorded on 10th August 2010.
  • No country has ownership of Antarctica. The continent, and the broader region to 60 Degrees South Latitude, is governed by The Antarctic Treaty which was drafted in 1959. It designates the area as “a natural reserve, devoted to peace and science”. Forty- eight nations have signed the Treaty.
  • Antarctica is the only continent without a time zone. Generally, people who temporarily reside in Antarctica will use the time zone of their home country or that of the supply line that brings them food and equipment.
  • There are no permanent residents in Antarctica. During the summer period up to 5,000 reside at the various research stations, but this drops to approximately 1,000 people in the winter period.
  • The first person to reach the South Pole was Roald Amundsen (Norway) in 1911.

marathons in


Antarctic Ice Marathon
Union Glacier
December 13, 2023
Antarctica Intercontinental Marathon
January 31, 2025

about the club

Run the World with The 7 Marathons Club


Run the World with The
7 Marathons Club

7 Continents

7 continents

Cras mattis consectetur purus sit amet fermentum. Sed posuere consectetur est at lobortis.